APRIL WRAP UP!

I had planned to do a “it’s gonna be May” joke but it is now the second of May. Well.

Had a pretty good April reading wise. I read 2 YA, 1 general fiction, 1 classic and 1 non ficton! I also DNF’d a book which I will get to at the end!

Here are the books and under the cut will be my thoughts!

Photo 02-05-2015 14 49 42

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell.

A fantastic magical realism book by David Mitchell. The Bone Clocks follows a girl named Holly who, in 1984, runs away from home, she takes tea from this old lady and in return the old lady asks Holly for asylum and from there we follow Holly throughout her life through the perspectives of different people that Holly encounters. I highly enjoyed this. It’s a massive book, nearly 600 pages long and David Mitchell has such a unique way of linking his plot together. I’m not entirely sure how to describe the rest of the book without spoiling it! I haven’t read Cloud Atlas, also written by Mitchell but I have seen the movie and this book is similar to that, in the sense of the long timeline and how everything becomes connected. We follow Holly from 1984 all the way to 2043 and the character development is amazing. I don’t think I’ve read a character more human. Definitely check it out. Although, I would recommend buying the paperback when that comes out because the hardback is a BEAST to hold!

Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead.

I FINALLY FINISHED THE VAMPIRE ACADEMY SERIES! HURRAH HURRAH HURRAH.
I shall not spoil this book because it’s the sixth book in the Vampire Academy series. This series is so long and complicated for me to explain but it’s vampires set at a boarding school with royals. The protagonist Rose is training to be a guardian for her best friend Lissa, who is a member of the royal family. As a series overall it’s a good series, I really liked Mead’s world building and the culture she created. While this book has some very good twists and turns, I felt a lot of it was just going round in circles and it really turned me off. Overall it’s a good conclusion but I won’t be reading the spin off series Bloodlines.

All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher.

A really great part self help part memoir on dealing with the teen age. While Carrie’s audience tend to be young, I feel like there’s something for everyone in this book that everyone can learn from. From friendships to relationships to being the best person you can be. Carrie writes in a very conversational way that it feels like you’re talking to a friend!

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

This is a cute YA book that deals with important mental health issues. This book follows Finch and Violet who meet on the top of their school’s bell tower. This book has been everywhere. I liked this book. While I thought the beginning and ending was strong, it just fell flat for me in the middle because it became so cheesy I found myself rolling my eyes at some of the dialogue. I’d recommend this book for fans of John Green and Ava Dellaria ‘Love Letters to the Dead’.

Emil and the Detectives – Erich Kástner.

This is a really sweet classic story translated from German about a boy who enlists the help of a group of boys to track down the man who he believes stole his money. I read this in one sitting and it reminded me of Fagin’s gang from Oliver! I didn’t think it was amazing but it’s a very cute story about friendship with a nice mother and son subplot.

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen

This is the one I DNF’d. I COULDN’T DO IT GUYS. I have tried to read this 3 times and the furthest I get is page 100. One thing is, there’s too many characters. That probably wouldn’t have bothered me IF THEY ALL DIDN’T SOUND THE SAME. They all had the same voice! Maybe in the future I’ll have a change of heart.

Thanks for reading, what did you read this April?

🙂

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “APRIL WRAP UP!

  1. you definitely had a good reading month! Can’t wait to read all I know now but I’ve too many books waiting on my pile before I can justify buying it haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s